DCR analysis

Hello experts.
I’m new in the industry. I need your support please. I’m facing issues with some 2G cells and 3G cells experiencing a high drop call rate. On what should I base myself to effectively carry out the root cause analysis such that it should meet the threshold?

as 1st step - make sure all necessary neighbours defined, and also having correct parameters.
2nd - check Timing Advance KPIs;
3rd - check parameters related to handover…

1 Like

This is for LTE, but may help:

A call drop in LTE means that a user’s ongoing session is dropped requiring the user to initiate a new connection to resume services.

Causes:
Radio Induced Drops.
MME Induced Drops.

1. Radio Induced Call Drops.
  • DL RLC Retransmissions.
  • Optimization ( Due to Quality and Coverage).
  • Hanover Execution Failure and Optimization.
  • Drop due to No Response.
  1. MME Induced Drops:
  • Uplink RLC Retransmission Issue.
  • Optimization.
  • N310 PDCCH Decoding Failures. (N310 indicates an interval of 200 PDCCH decoding failures).
  • Handover Drop due to MME.

How Do You Calculate Call Drop Rate.?

It is Possible by Drive Test.

1. Call drop rate = Number of call drop times/Number of call setup success times.
  2. Number of call setup success times + 1:
    After the Alerting message is received.

What is Call Drop Problem?

If your cell phone has a damaged antenna, you may experience poor cell phone Reception, Data loss and Frequent dropped calls, Radio Coverage.

In the core network, 2G/3G are using circuit switch method, but 4G above are using packet switch method. 2G/3G are using hard handover, 4G above are using soft handover. Thus their MME functions are very different. DCR debugging in MAC above layer shall be very different.